The New Mutants: Is This Time For Real?

Ⓐⓖⓐⓘⓝ,

………Disney’s The New Mutants has created a massive buzz of hysteria and speculation. As the ill-fated, long-awaited film makes its way onto the big screen this summer, Disney/Fox is taking a huge gamble as expectations have either soared or for some, dropped to non existent. There was a time I was clearly ecstatic at the prospect of a horror movie spin-off based on the X-Men Universe. In the 3 years since I first learned of The New Mutants, let’s just say my expectations have tempered.

New buzz as The New Mutants gets a new August 28 release

It was during the beginning of the height of the horror movie revival (yes that is exactly where the name of this blog comes from), when all the world decidedly got hooked on horror. It was a thrilling thing to witness–as it meant their were more horror movies to watch–and on that, it did deliver. But as time passed by and the hairs on my head grew long and we even survived a pandemic, no word arrived as to when The New Mutants movie would finally be released, until now.

Anya Taylor-Joy & Charlie Heaton

I still remember the YouTube search I did a few years back after hearing about the movie for the first time. Then, the movie was slated to be released on April 12, 2018. I was psyched because the trailer was quite dark. At the time there wasn’t much talk about the film and it definitely wasn’t being promoted heavily, if at all.

One time only, I see the movie promoted and that was during a commercial break while watching American Horror Story back in 2017. Watching weekly TV shows was still a thing on network cable stations (yup, with commercials and all that antiquated fun stuff). After that, I never saw it promoted again, nor had I hear anything other than the occasional hearsay.

When I saw the quick trailer I was immediately intrigued by the subject of the movie, but also the film boasted an ensemble cast consisting of Game of Thrones star, Maisie Williams, The Witch’s leading lady, Anya Taylor-Joy whom has an intoxicating way of charming with her fine acting chops, as well as everyone’s favorite brother Jonathan Byers (Charlie Heaton) from Stranger Things. This is exciting stuff for a movie nut.

The New Mutants, was originally slated to be released on April 13, 2018, before being pushed back to February 22, 2019, to avoid Deadpool 2, and then again to August 2, 2019, to avoid Dark Phoenix (which bombed btw). That was two years ago. Then it was one year ago. Then the buzz went silent.

But here we are. The New Mutants has its sixth release date and people are excited to see how a horror movie interpretation of a beloved action-superhero franchise will play out. I for one am not going to place a high bet on the film but I sure can’t wait to see it, finally.

One of the best comments I’ve seen on YouTube under the original trailer for The New Mutants reads:

“I quit smoking to live long enough to see this movie in 2060.”

The comment has over 2K likes and it definitely sums up this movie’s journey.

🆃🅷🅴 🅴🅽🅳

2020 trailer versus the teaser trailer from 2018

2020 Trailer

2018 Trailer

Back Home

Leave a comment